

# Staff Senate Meeting Minutes Hardeman Student Service Center, room 206 June 19, 2017 @ 3 PM

# I. Call to Order and Establishment of Quorum

Eddie Rodriguez, Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m., and quorum was established.

#### **Senators Present:**

Sharla Adam, Leonor Constancio, Kerri Mikulik, Vara O'Neal, Sandra Rosser, Gary Salgado, Kelsey Samsel, Chris Steele, Betty Thorpe, Farah Lokey, Eddie Rodriguez

#### Senators Excused:

Judy Stanley, Judy Polunsky, Andrew Waggoner

# Alternates who Signed-In:

Stacy Bryan, D.D. Norton, Bradley Petty, Jennifer Stephens, Susan Williams, Haley Zapata

## **Visitors who Signed-In:**

Brian Braden, Jason McCarver, Jayna Phinney, Maurice Fortin, Kinm Wirth, Carey Taylor, Jon Wilcox, Riley Mashburn, Dave Parker, Kurtis Neal, Bryan Jackson, Sandy Seidel, Jennifer Stephens

#### II. RAMStar Awards

## RAMStar recipients:

- Carey Taylor, Jayna Phinney, Cecilia Hernandez, Kim Wirth, Jordan Kalina,

# III. Approval of Previous Meeting's Minutes

Leonor Constancio moved to approve the previous minutes. Sandra Rosser seconded and the motion carried.

#### IV. Guests

David Parker – thanked the group. He is heading back to Arizona and is taking a position there to be closer to his family.

## V. Treasurer's Report

Staff Excellence Awards (62225)
Beginning Balance

Available Balance – May 24, 2017

\$3,500 \$1,346.40



Staff Senate, Angelo State University

Reminder that we will be using these funds to add plaques in UC Spine.

Staff Senate (62226)

Beginning Balance \$1,200 Available Balance – May 24, 2017 \$ 648.16

## VI. Committee Reports

Kerri Mikulik. Staff Relations Committee Chair

The hot dog social for Independence Day has been schedule for July 6 at the Pavilion.
 Please volunteer for 30 minute shifts if you plan on attending.

## VII. Unfinished Business

N/A

#### VIII. New Business

Elections-By Laws update changes

- Do we send to new committee to vote on suggested changes? Will send on to the new committee for future voting options.

Selected new staff senate executive committee and university committees.

- Nomination for Chair was made for Chris Steele who accepted. The vote was unanimous. Chris Steele was elected Chair. Vice Chair preferably someone who is starting the new term. New staff senate members are eligible. Farrah Lokey was nominated and accepted. The vote was unanimous and Farrah was elected Vice Chair. Treasurer position self-nomination by Betty Thorpe and unanimously voted. Leonor Constancio was nominated for Secretary. She accepted and the vote was unanimous.
- Committee assignments were distributed and senators and alternates signed up. Some committees that are not filled can be sent to staff for sign up. They do not have to be senators or alternates to participate. Kerri Mikulik will continue as chair of Programs Committee.

# IX. Miscellaneous (comments, announcements, and roundtable times)

 Report needs to be created to submit to President. Farrah will take care of the report using Kerri's spread sheet.

# X. Adjournment

Kerri Mikulik motioned to adjourn the meeting and Farrah seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:40 PM.